Taco John's

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

3.6 / 1 vote

rating star
Click a star to rate this entry

Veg-friendly Tex-Mex chain

Taco John's has a fair amount of vegetarian options and a few vegan options. Lard is never used in cooking, they use canola oil. They say that their refried beans, guacamole and Mexican Rice do not contain meat products.

The white tortillas are vegan but two different companies supply the wheat tortillas. Both types contain whey and one contains mono- and diglycerides from an unknown source. Animal rennet is not used in the cheeses and you can ask to have the cheese removed from some of the sandwiches, or have meat replaced with beans.

The bean burritos, corn tortilla and guacamole are vegan. Vegan sauces are chunky salsa, mild, hot and Pico de Gallo. The enchilada is vegetarian.

Deep-fried items such as the Potato Olés, nachos, fajita shells and tacos are cooked in the same oil where meat is cooked. The Potato Olés supposedly contained milk at one point, but TJ claims they are dairy-free in their allergen menu: https://www.tacojohns.com/globalassets/nutrition-info/allergen-chart-11-8-16.pdf. Recommend asking at your location.

The rice contains seasoning that contains chicken flavoring (directly from the seasoning packet, "chicken flavor maltodextrin, salt, yeast extract, onion powder, natural flavor, dried yeast and soy sauce (wheat, soybeans, salt).

Added by Cass Danger on Jan 4 09 (last updated Dec 23 16)

Edit Clone

Mark this place closed (permanently).

Most Recent Reviews

Image for Cass Danger

rating star

I normally wouldn't add a place like Taco John's to VegGuide.org (seems nearly as useless as adding Taco Bell), but I had a really good experience at this particular location. Also, as a former employee of Southridge Mall for 3 years, I know how difficult it is to get veg options there.

I spoke with two managers at this location and they were both VERY accommodating. They explained to me everything that was vegetarian and vegan and even brought me out an allergy guide to look at.

Unfortunately, Taco John's doesn't have any burritos/tacos that are vegetarian or vegan on their own, but they're happy to leave off the meat and cheese and make substitutions. I had a "beef burrito" with no beef or dairy and the manager had the employees put on a bunch of free guacamole since since I didn't have the meat and such. Super nice people there and totally willing to help.

Write your review




No Reservations


$ - inexpensive


  • Mexican


main image for Taco John's


10am - 9pm
10am - 6pm
11am - 6pm

Edit Hours