The Depot Tavern

Twin Cities, Minnesota

3.1 / 6 votes

rating star
Click a star to rate this entry

Restaurant/bar adjacent to and affiliated with First Avenue

Restaurant, Bar

The Depot Tavern's menu isn't dominated by vegetarian or vegan food, but they do have several clearly-marked items. Some vegan options as of May 2011:
- mock duck tacos
- lemon walnut veggie burger
- tempeh BLT
- coconut curry chopped salad

Added by finrod on May 7 11 (last updated May 7 11)

Edit Clone

Mark this place closed (permanently).


Most Recent Reviews

Image for Jeff Johnson

rating star

On Friday night I met some folks for dinner at The Depot Tavern in downtown Minneapolis. This place is owned by the folks who run First Avenue and 7th Street Entry, and it's located right next to each.

On the upside, the Depot has a number of vegan options, and they're all clearly marked. Most of the vegan stuff is bar food. They have vegan onion rings, mock duck tacos, a tempeh B.L.T., a veggie burger, a salad, and a soup.

I opted for the veggie burger—they call it the "Red Beans and Rice Veggie Burger". I'm sorry to report that the Red Beans and Rice Veggie Burger isn't very good.

The first problem is that it was terribly bland. Even with lots of condiments (the vegan mayo pictured and some mustard I added later) the thing came up short in flavor. The second problem is that it had a weird, overly-soft texture. So it's clear, I'm not on the hunt for veggie burgers that could fool me into thinking I'm eating a hamburger (Gardein's beefless burger comes close, by the way). This thing was just plain mushy, and that's unpleasant.

I'll avoid this veggie burger from here on out. I may make another visit to the Depot, though, since a friend had the tempeh B.L.T. and said it was fantastic.


rating star

I used to love going to the Depot Tavern because of their many clearly-labeled vegan options. However, I recently noticed a change in their menu - they have started labeling their mayo as "egg-free mayo (contains honey)." Depending on your stance on honey, you may still choose to eat this mayo. I am disappointed in their misunderstanding of the term vegan, but I'm glad they at least disclose that their "vegan" mayo does actually contain an animal product. That being said, their mayo is on most vegan dishes so if you are avoiding honey, you are probably going to have to eliminate the main condiment on whatever you order.

Write your review

Read all 5 reviews.


Neighborhood

Downtown

Prices

$$ - average

Cuisines

  • American
  • Eclectic (Varied)

Features

  • Brunch
  • Happy Hour

Edit

Hours

11am - 2am
10am - 2am

Edit Hours